Post-university, Pre-travel Musings

I haven’t written in a while. Hardly anything. College and/or growing out of adolescence has made me more practical. I wrote all the time when I was younger. Fiction, non-fiction, poetry and all sorts of nonsense. I used to believe that people cared about what I wrote… either that or I didn’t care if they paid attention or not. I still love to share stories but it has more or less transformed from words to photography and multi-media. That is a more vague avenue, a bit more unbiased and safer. I learned that once you start telling real stories, people get uncomfortable so I kind of got quiet. I had convinced myself that no one was interested in what I had to say anymore.

But I’ve decided to start writing again. I love to be inspired and I love to inspire others. But I am writing for me. If someone happens to be inspired along the way, so be it but I feel like I have so much more clarity and focus in life when I am putting my thoughts down. Through this I hope to gain a bit more of my identity back. Just as Anna Nalick sings in “Breathe”:

“If I get it all down on paper, it’s no longer
inside of me, threatening the life they belong to”

So here I am starting yet another blog. I want to keep family and friends updated during my trips and to share my thoughts on this beautiful and hectic life.

Leave a Reply

