Honduras 2011 [the after]

I feel as if I am cheating on my journal by writing a blog first. I have not caught up on journaling from over a week ago. I do not like that.

I have tried writing this new blog entry

  • in two different countries
  • in three different time zones
  • in a hotel room
  • at the children’s home
  • at various airports
  • at my grandmother’s house
…and have failed. I have concluded that I have a fragile attention span and require the utmost solitude and concentration in order to be as introspective as I would like. I am now in my own space and am just now able to truly process my trip from the last 2.5+ weeks.
___________
As much as I try to always be totally in the moment, there are some things I can only appreciate in hindsight and thinking back on my time spent in rural Honduras seeing 1000+ people receive medical attention then being with the kids from the children’s home as they minister to kids less fortunate and share the same hope that changed their lives…. It would be an understatement to say that I am amazed by God’s grace. The grace that allows us to be a small pencil in the hand of a writing God. The grace that brings a doctor from hours away to the aid of a baby on the brink of death just in time. The grace that interrupts our doubting and whispers, “He is real.” The grace that pulls a child out of an abusive and derogatory home and gives him life and hope and a future. The grace that even in our unfaithfulness says, “I will be faithful to you and make you mine.” (Hos. 2:20 NLT)
___________
Mountains

Honduras, you are one of the best teachers I've known.

I will share specific stories and more details in the following post(s).

Leave a Reply

