Humanity. Honesty.

149365_170802559609752_6300498_n

Photo cred: Shashank

[something I wrote in 2009]

 

I only want inspiration
I only want good
I only want to know the best
And for the best to do what they should
I wish the world was full of people
Like the few good people I know
I wish the good in all of us
Was all that ever showed

I wish I knew some people better
And that some wanted to know me more
I wish we hadn’t burned those bridges
And I wish you’d open the door
I wish we weren’t intimidated
By the things we didn’t know
And that we had started speaking our minds
A long time ago
I wish I spent more of my days
In grace instead of judgment
I wish my life was a complete sentence
Instead of a teasing fragment
I wish more people sharpened me
And that my iron sharpened yours
I wish we’d think deeper and longer
And I wish we loved more

I only want inspiration
I only want good
I only want to know the best
And for the best to do what they should
I wish the world was full of people
Like the few good people I know
I wish the good in all of us
Was all that ever showed

I wish we could get over our fears
And our insecurities
I wish forgiveness and peace replaced
War and jealousy
I wish we leaned toward acceptance and
Understanding, more than hate
I wish we knew that life and death
Are things that our words create
I wish I didn’t waste my life
In safety and security
I wish I was brave enough
To trade my reputation for maturity
I wish our attention spans were longer
And that we felt each other’s words
I wish we empathized deeper
And let our hearts be stirred
I wish you could look at me and know
All the things I never say
I wish vulnerability
Wasn’t such a scary place

I only want inspiration
I only want good
I only want to know the best
And for the best to do what they should
I wish the world was full of people
Like the few good people I know
I wish the good in all of us
Was all that ever showed

Leave a Reply

