Life is Best Lived Offline

I am taking a little break from Facebook. I kinda decided this a few weeks ago but it was one of those passing thoughts that I tried to ignore. I referred to the fact that social media often takes the intentionality out of real-life relationships, in a recent tumblr post.

Life is Best

I avoided doing this until one thing after another kept coming up like a slap to my face and I gave in. I’ve read several articles recently about “turning off the technology” and it has really convicted me. One interesting info graphic I saw today that depicted the pros and cons of social media, showed that “39% of Americans spend more time socializing online than face to face.” Well, starting now that statistic can drop 0.000007% because I intend to be more intentional and personal.

I want to be fully present in every moment (thank God I don’t have an iPhone, I’d be in trouble) and not miss out on opportunities and deeper relationships that are right in front of me. This isn’t a long-term commitment, really I don’t even know if it will last a couple weeks or for a while, but I am going to lay off of social networking (other than this blog… & maybe twitter) until I become less dependent. Especially during this time of my life – I have so many other things to focus on and to put effort into.

Until then, check here (my fabulous new blog site, thanks to the wonderful Lauren!) for updates and/or get in touch with me the old fashioned way. I don’t know, be creative.

2 thoughts on “Life is Best Lived Offline

  1. Wow! How inspiring… Instead of texting Andrew, I now ride my bike over to his house and talk “face to face” to him. I did this yesterday and today and his house is almost 3 miles away. I talk to many horses, cows, and dogs along the way. I meet new animal friends. Benefits: good exercise, renews my mind to think out of my horizon, and practices fast reflexes when cars come out of nowhere. Negatives: chased by scary, man-eating dogs, hills, and people look at me crazy while I’m going fast down 174…

Leave a Reply

