White House Halts Deportations // Evangelical Immigration Table

What a monumental week/last 24 hours. It was, right? At least in the world of immigration news. Whew.

I heard of the White House’s announcement this morning to halt the deportations of young immigrants, particularly those eligible for DREAM Act status. My first reaction? Elation. I thought of friends of mine who have been praying for the day when our President would announce such a thing. This could potentially affect 800,000 innocent people.

Then I got skeptical. And I remembered that we don’t put our trust in man… especially not politicians. I think that I will really celebrate when I see this new policy carried out in a practical way. (because we all know that empty promises are a White House specialty)

A friend emailed me this great article today from BBC News and the second video in the article features a Birmingham, Alabama DREAMer, Victor, being interviewed in a Peruvian restaurant where I have eaten before. (reppin’ that BAMA in global news, no big deal.) I participated in a rally for immigrant rights with him and a group from Birmingham at Alabama’s statehouse on Valentine’s Day of this year.

Victor and several other undocumented recent graduates sharing their stories in Montgomery, AL.

You can view more photos from the Valentine’s Day rally on my Flickr! stream.

Earlier this week, a wonderful group of evangelical Christian leaders, known as the Evangelical Immigration Table, collaborated at a press conference to call for comprehensive immigration reform. I watched the live stream from work and have to admit, my little immigrant-loving heart was bursting with happiness. This is progress I thought. (on their website you can watch the press conference, hear their new radio spot and sign the pledge for just immigration laws)

Statement from website:

As evangelical Christian leaders, we call for a bipartisan solution on immigration that:

  • Respects the God-given dignity of every person
  • Protects the unity of the immediate family
  • Respects the rule of law
  • Guarantees secure national borders
  • Ensures fairness to taxpayers
  • Establishes a path toward legal status and/or citizenship for those who qualify and who wish to become permanent residents

AvM4xwsCIAA6OSo.png-large

I was also feeling a little nerdy and starstruck having had the privilege of meeting several of those leaders in the last few months due to my short-term work in immigrant rights community organizing. I respect these guys and truly see them as world changers.

I am certainly grateful that immigration reform has been brought to the forefront this week and that the conversation is slowly beginning to be framed in an appropriate manner. Time will tell how this actually affects lives and how effectively it propels us toward national comprehensive reform.

Valentine’s Day Rally. Montgomery, Alabama.

Leave a Reply

