Meanwhile (miscellaneous thoughts and updates)

Today marks my 3 month anniversary here in Honduras. On one hand, I feel like I have been here for a lifetime longer than that. On the other, I can’t believe that it is already November. I fear the time passing so fast in the next 7 months.

There are moments when someone back in the states mentions something like, “I heard that you’re living in Honduras,” as if it is unusual. And then I remember that it is… and all of a sudden I feel the novelty of it again. And it feels good. It feels good to know that I feel comfortable and at home here, so much so that I have to be reminded that it isn’t my home. Not really, not yet at least.

I am thinking and praying about the future. These grown-up decisions aren’t very fun and it is all kinda scary but it has prompted me to re-vamp my short-term and long-term goals. I just wanna do it all, is that so unreasonable??

 ___________

 Recently:

  • One of the girls at the children’s home where I am living turned fifteen a little over a month ago (ya know, the big quinceañera celebration they do) I helped with makeup and hair and photography of course. It was a fun little event.
  • My friend, Morgan, came to visit me! And we visited the biggest waterfall in Honduras. SO AWESOME. 
  • I traveled to Belize a few weeks ago and visited my Honduran-Panamanian-(and now)Belizean family that hosted me while in Panama last year. They moved to the small Central American country, Belize, a few months ago.

It was so interesting to learn about their distinct culture. I’ve never experienced the feeling of flying into a country on my own without having the slightest clue of what the people or customs are like. It felt pretty adventurous. They speak an interesting Caribbean Spanglish but most are bilingual in Spanish and English. They use the Belizean dollar but American dollars are accepted most places. The majority of the country is rural. Extremely rural. Like no McDonald’s, no movie theater, no mall rural.

It was a great trip but the next time I go I need to check out the islands. 😉 I hear that’s where it’s at!

Leave a Reply

