Short and Sweet: What I’m doing these days, in a nutshell

I’m home. (The USA one)

After a year in San Pedro Sula, Honduras, I’m back. But not for good good. I’ve been here for almost three weeks. I’m still re-adjusting. I felt like a foreigner in an Alabama Walmart and I almost had a breakdown in the frozen section of Target. Here in the U.S., we have a lot of choices. And a lot of convenience.

I wake up in the mornings and am just grateful that I can drink clean water from the faucet and that a gecko didn’t jump on my head in the middle of the night. I’m living in luxury.

But I miss it. And I know God has been and is still going to move in big ways in the country of Honduras. And somehow He wants me to play a small part in that! I spent the year teaching English in a bilingual Christian school and it was one of the most challenging things I’ve ever done in my life – I’m proud I completed it! I learned so much in the process and made some great memories. I lived at the children’s home, Hogar Esperanza, and got close to the kids especially the teen girls. I participated in a some medical trips into the mountains of Copán, Honduras and got to see first-hand the transforming, holistic work of community development that the Church of God is doing in that area. And then I met the Tolupan Indian tribe. <– another entire story for another entire blog post… (stay tuned!) 😉

So, there are several things that I am doing now:

  1. Representing a humanitarian non-profit organization under the Church of God in Honduras called, New Life Honduras, which exists to unite the efforts of social action across the country. Under the non-profit there are many community development projects already in existence and many more that can be initiated once sufficient funds are obtained. My goal is to find resources in the U.S. (willing volunteers, monetary/material donations, etc) needed in order to launch and/or reinforce these projects in Honduras. It is not really that we are asking North American Christians to make sacrifices in order to give to impoverished Hondurans; but as the president of New Life, Brother Orestes, explained… We are simply moving resources from one geographical area of the body of Christ to another. (From an area living in excess and abundance with a high concentration of wealth, mind you.) Doing as mentioned repeatedly in the Old and New Testament, like 1 John 3:17 – “But if anyone has enough money to live well and sees a brother or sister in need and refuses to help — how can God’s love be in that person?” IMG_8949
  2. Looking for a job! There is nothing glamorous about the reality of post-univeristy debt but that is exactly what I am dealing with these days. I am trusting God that my school loans will be paid off in a timely manner so that I will not be burdened when I move back to Honduras for missions.
  3. Making plans for a training and receiving center for missionaries in Honduras! Stay tuned for the official reveal of Honduras Missions Center… meanwhile have a sneak peek at this gorgeous logo designed by Jay Perez: logo

Here’s where I need your help! I am looking for opportunities to share with church congregations about what God is doing in Honduras and how you can be a part of that. I have two goals: 1. raising awareness and funds for poverty alleviation / community development projects AND 2. speaking with youth and children – God called me to missions when I was 11 years old! It is very important that young, impressionable hearts are exposed to missions at an early age. It is something I am passionate about.

Please get in touch if you would like me to visit and share about my experience in Honduras. Also, I am currently raising funds for personal traveling expenses by selling some of my Honduran landscape photography. <– click the link to check it out!

Leave a Reply

